Raven Wings & River’s Dreams

Rise up on Raven wings;
Drift away in River’s dreams.

This is about us, me and you.
With no song to sing,
My eyes remain locked on the rear view.
I still try to understand the pain it brings;
It all adds up, every little thing.
It was inevitable from the start;
Two years to become a pair of broken hearts.

The first, best and the worst;
I became an actor with no need to rehearse.
I heard the scream of an eagle and it led me astray.
Body of a lion, talons locked on its prey;
To the voice in my head, I did not listen.
Mind and heart, no greater division.

Rise up on Raven wings;
Drift away in River’s dreams.

The mountains called me home and I left on a mission.
You moved on while I was gone;
Was it an easy decision?
Our love story could have been Dear John,
But two months was too long.
I called it quits and you didn’t even flinch.
That moment haunts me since.

Enter into the present;
Your rise and my descent.
The river flows down, and I with it.
The sky around you, there is no limit.
Greatest love into greatest adversary;
It’s time to open a new book and begin a different story.

Jordan McFarlen

Leave a Reply

